TCWPA’s 2016 Annual Members Meeting


TCWPA held its annual members meeting on May 14th at the Fleming Center in Franklin, TN.  Members elected the 2016 Board of Directors as follows:

Aaron Astor (Maryville), Ernie Bacon (Franklin), Kent Collier (Savannah), Sam Elliott (Signal Mountain), Curt Fields (Collierville), Anthony Hodges (Elder Mountain), Sam Huffman (Brentwood), Joan Markel (Knoxville), Lee Millar (Collierville), George Smith (Murfreesboro), Joe Smyth (Franklin), Daniel Taylor (Jackson), Philip Walker (Nashville), and Lee Williams (Hermitage).

In addition to presentation of the Annual Report, Preservation team members provided an update on the more than 150 battlefield sites in Tennessee.  Grand Division co-captains Aaron Astor (East), Greg Wade (Middle) and Daniel Taylor (West) shared their plans for engaging the community and other team members in onsite visits to assess the condition of each of the sites.

President Smyth presented the 2016 Robert A. Ragland Award to Billy King of Denmark, TN for his outstanding work in preserving Civil War sites in west Tennessee.  Smyth also presented State Representative Charles Sargent the President’s Partnership Award for his outstanding work to further historic preservation in both Franklin and throughout Tennessee.

Recognizing our Volunteers


President Joe Smyth recognized one of TCWPA’s outstanding volunteers, Rob Hartman, citing his past and continued support of TCWPA events, programs, and website management.

2016-2017 TCWPA Officers  

Following the Annual Members meeting, the newly elected TCWPA board elected Joe Smyth (President), Anthony Hodges (Vice-President/Secretary); Sam Huffman (Vice-President/Treasurer); and Daniel Taylor (Vice-President/Programs).