Leadership Team

Our Board of Directors

lead our non-profit organization and are from across Tennessee

Officers of the Board

TCWPA Board of Directors

  • President Anthony Hodges  (Elder Mountain)
  • Vice President Sam Huffman (Brentwood)
  • Vice President Joe Smyth (Franklin)
  • Vice President Daniel Taylor (Jackson)
Members of the Board
  • Aaron Astor (Maryville)
  • Ernie Bacon (Franklin)
  • Kent Collier  (Savannah)
  • Sam Elliott (Chattanooga)
  • Curt Fields (Collierville)
  • Lee Millar (Collierville)
  • George Smith (Murfreesboro)
  • Phil Walker (Nashville)
  • Lea Williams (Hermitage)

TCWPA’s Advisory Board members

Board of Directors
provide guidance for programs and help coordinate multi-agency statewide events and projects

  • Ed Bearss , NPS Historian Emeritus
  • Joe Brent, KY Battlefields
  • Myers Brown, Tennessee State Library and Archives
  • Charlie Crawford, GA Battlefields
  • Lee Curtis, Tennessee Department of Tourist Development
  • Will Greene, Eastern Battlefields
  • Norm Hill, USCT Reenactors, past THC member
  • Tim Hyder, Tennessee Wars Commission
  • Patrick McIntyre,  Tennessee Historical Commission
  • Wayne Moore, Tennessee State Library and Archives
  • Emily Parish, The Land Trust for Tennessee
  • Ann Toplovich, Tennessee Historical Sociedty
  • Carroll Van West, State Historian
  • Antoinette Van Zelm, TN Civil War Nat’l. Heritage Area
  • State Representative Steve McDaniel
  • State Representative Charles Sargent
  • State Senator Bill Ketron
  • Chickamauga and Chattanooga National Military Park, Brad Bennett
  • Fort Donelson National  Battlefield, Brian McCutchen
  • Fort Pillow State Historic Site, Robby Tidwell
  • Johnsonville State Historic Park, Jerry Wooten
  • Shiloh National Military Park, Dale Wilkerson
  • Stones River National Battlefield, Supt. Brenda Waters

Our Executive Committee

guides policy development and implementation

20150922_102741 (2) (3) (2)

  • TCWPA Officers
  • Steve McDaniel, State Representative and Past President, TCWPA
  • Brenda Waters, National Park Service Liaison
  • Tim Hyder, Tennessee Wars Commission Liaison
  • TCWPA Executive Director and Assistant Director

TCWPA Site Specialists

serve as primary contacts for information about sites in their region of the state

  • East Tennessee:   Joan Markel (Knoxville)
  • Middle Tennessee:  Jim Lewis (Murfreesboro)
  • West Tennessee:  Jim Weaver (Medon)
  • State:  Fred Prouty (Nashville)

Our Staff

do the day-to-day operations and guide the Board in planning, fundraising, Board development and communications

  • Executive Director Mary Ann Peckham (Reliance)
  • Assistant Director Dave Woodward  (Brentwood)
  • Rob Hartman, Communications  (LaVergne)